2019 – the year in art

Frank Bowling, ‘Vitacress’ (1981), Tate Britain (private collection), www.tate.org.uk/whats-on/tate-britain/exhibition/frank-bowling/members-private-view-frank-bowling

Third in this short series of posts on my cultural highlights for 2019 is works of art. Here are a few favourite artworks from a year’s gallery-going, letting the images speak for themselves. For each I’ve given the artwork, artist and date, the name of the gallery where I saw it, and the name of its usual home if different.

Laura Knight, ‘Ella Naper in the Apple Orchard at Trewoolfe’ (c.1916), Royal Academy, www.royalacademy.org.uk/exhibition/free-display-laura-knight-ra-a-working-life
Ivon Hitchens, ‘Composition, Wildflowers’ (c.1939) , Garden Museum, London (private collection © The Estate of Ivon Hitchens), https://gardenmuseum.org.uk/exhibitions/ivon-hitchens-the-painter-in-the-woods/
Sean Scully, ‘Brown’ (2018), National Gallery, London (private collection © Sean Scully), www.nationalgallery.org.uk/exhibitions/past/sea-star-sean-scully-at-the-national-gallery
Bill Viola, ‘Nantes Triptych’ (1992), Royal Academy (Bill Viola Studio), www.royalacademy.org.uk/exhibition/bill-viola-michelangelo
Lorenzo Lotto, ‘Portrait of Giovanni della Volta with his Wife and Children’ (1547), National Gallery, London, CC BY-NC-ND 4.0, www.nationalgallery.org.uk/paintings/lorenzo-lotto-portrait-of-giovanni-della-volta-with-his-wife-and-children
Helene Schjerfbeck, ‘Circus Girl’ (1916), Royal Academy (Finnish National Gallery / Ateneum Art Museum), www.royalacademy.org.uk/exhibition/helene-schjerfbeck
Barbara Hepworth, Group III (Evocation)’ (1952), St Albans Museum + Gallery (c/o Pier Arts Centre), www.stalbansmuseums.org.uk/whats-on/barbara-hepworth-artist-society-1948-53
John Opie, ‘Gil Blas Taking the Key from Dame Leonarda in the Cavern of the Banditti ‘ (1804), Maidstone Museum and Bentif Art Gallery, https://artuk.org/discover/artworks/gil-blas-taking-the-key-from-dame-leonarda-in-the-cavern-of-the-banditti-76742/search/collections:maidstone-museum-and-bentlif-art-gallery/page/20
Lee Krasner, ‘Mosaic Table’ (1947), Barbican Centre (private collection), www.barbican.org.uk/whats-on/2019/event/lee-krasner-living-colour
Josuah Reynolds, ‘Huang Ya Dong ‘Wang-Y-Tong” (1776), Knole House, https://artuk.org/discover/artworks/huang-ya-dong-wang-y-tong-219055/search/collections:national-trust-knole/page/6
Dóra Maurer, ‘Stage II’ (2016), Tate Modern, www.tate.org.uk/whats-on/tate-modern/exhibition/dora-maurer
Marianne Stokes ,’The Net Mender’ (1901), Guildhall Art Gallery, London, https://artuk.org/discover/artworks/the-net-mender-51203/view_as/grid/search/makers:marianne-stokes-18551927/page/1
‘Head of figurine of the Spedos variety’, Early Cycladic II period – Syros Phase (2800-2300 BC), Museum of Cycladic Art, Athens, https://cycladic.gr/exhibit/ng0701-kefali-idoliou-parallagis-spedou?cat=kikladiki-techni
Spencer Finch, ‘Shield of Achilles (Dawn, Troy, 10/27/02)’ (2013), British Museum (James Cohan Gallery), https://www.jamescohan.com/exhibitions/spencer-finch

About

View all posts by

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.